Overslept? Be Happy!

Even though last night we all got an extra hour of sleep here in the United States because we turned back our clocks before going to bed, I ended up oversleeping this morning. I had asked the hotel where I’m staying for a conference for a “wake-up” call that never happened. Consequently, I woke up later (to the tune of my “back-up” plan on my Blackberry phone a half an hour later), and wondered what time it really was. When I realized that I never received the wake-up call and had overslept, I had a choice to make: either feel flustered, frustrated and upset that I was now running late (or) appreciate the extra time I really did have to rest.  As you probably imagine based on my overall theme for this blog, I’ve chosen the latter.

We are all faced with many small choices like this everyday.   Happiness is truly a choice we make, and it starts with these little things that happen in our daily lives. We always have the choice to see the glass as half-full, rather than half-empty.  In doing so, we align ourselves a bit closer to being happy most of the time.

So this morning, I’m grateful for the extra rest. I’m happy that no one really cared about the fact that I was late, and it wouldn’t really matter if they did anyway, as that is their issue.  My job is to be happy and I’m in charge of that by myself.  If I judge my happiness on what other people think, I will be disappointed. If I judge my happiness on how punctually I get up in the morning, then I’ll be judging myself a lot and that would not be a kind, loving way to treat myself.  If I blame the hotel for not setting the wake-up call, I’m going to be attracting that energy back to myself.  So I’m giving myself a break, as well as the hotel for not setting the “wake-up” call when I requested.  I’m going to appreciate instead!

By being late, I met two really nice people this morning at breakfast. In being late, I ran into a colleague as I was coming out of my room.  It sure was good to see her smiling face this morning! The extra sleep was great for my overall well-being and will prepare me for the next two days when I may not get as much sleep.  I appreciate my Blackberry alarm that served as my “back-up,” too.  I love how I got an inspiration to write about this here, too. So I’m choosing to be happy. Isn’t that a good way to start the day?

Leave a Reply

