Turn On Love

11692591_10155783122780650_6295045273256945_nThere’s been a lot of talk about love this week. With the Supreme Court decision legalizing same sex marriages in all 50 states, we’ve seen the hashtag #lovewins all over social media and the internet. I appreciate this celebration of love. I appreciate that I have found ways to love myself, too, which allows me to love others. I appreciate authors like Louise Hay and Catherine Ponder for their beautiful words on love. I appreciate poets like Maya Angelou and Rumi for poetic and empowering words about love. I appreciate Jesus for loving us unconditionally. Regardless of your religious beliefs, how can you argue with love? Everyone deserves love. This world of ours would be a better place if we all could “be” love more often.  The Beatles were right when they sang “All we need is love.”

Today I’m celebrating that I love myself enough to know what’s the best for me. I’ve made some recent decisions for myself that have been acts of self-love. Self-love is the best kind: for when we are loving ourselves, we are more apt to spread our love to others.

I’ve seen the hateful remarks on social media against the recent Supreme Court decision. I’ve seen the internet reports of southern black churches being burned since the racist terrorism in Charleston. This is the time for love to shine forth.  As hard as it may seem, we can see people spreading love in these horrific situations. By choosing love and loving actions and words, we spread more happiness into our lives and to others.

These times call for new habits in each of us that serve us by operating from a place of love. I’m reminded of a practice that Catherine Ponder recommends where she suggests we “turn on love” in her The Dynamic Laws of Prosperity book. Basically, it goes like this:

  • Meditate on love and affirm “I let the divine love now be made alive in me.”
  • Turn on love in your daily life by affirming silently to everything: “Let divine love be made alive in thee.” Do this with all things  -clothes, car, job, people, and even to your dreams that haven’t manifested yet.

This is the time to “turn on love” when we read, hear and see hateful comments and behaviors around us.  It’s the loving thing to do. Love wins!

Leave a Reply

